Capsule Wardrobe, pt. 1

If you’ve been on pinterest, you’ve probably heard of the capsule Wardrobe. If you don’t know what it is, it’s the art of editing your wardrobe down to a few key pieces that you can mix and match. I think people started doing this for vacations, when they would pick out a bunch of pieces in a similar color scheme that worked for a variety of events. Now, since minimalism is a thing, people are choosing to apply this to their everyday wardrobe. 

I’ve seen a variety of wardrobe quotas around… everywhere from 15 to 30 to 50. I decided that I should do an inventory of my clothes before I decided on how much to edit down. I also decided not to include any of my school shirts in the inventory, because I only wear them to school and maybe around the house.

Now… when I realized I had 97 items in my closet and 35 pairs of shoes, I was really disappointed in myself. I don’t wear all of that! Not to mention, I hadn’t even counted the items in my two, TWO, dressers. Paring down to 100 items total, including shoes, seemed like a realistic place to start. In 6 months, I may see what I actually wear and edit down to 50.

Even though I didn’t count them, cleaning out my workout yard work clothes was the most refreshing part. I keep them in plastic drawers and I couldn’t even close them. I also tossed all my ancient pajamas and sweatpants, replacing them with half of the 20+ pairs of lularoe leggings I acquired. For some reason, tossing the shoes was easy, and I got rid of 22 pairs! I’m saving 3 of the 9ish pairs of jeans to cut into shorts, because I can never find shorts with an inseam I like.

My plan for all the items I tossed is simple. They’re in plastic bags for a few months, just in case I have to wear something. If, after 3 months, I don’t look for anything, I’m going to try to sell some of the clothes to one of those places that pays you for gently used items. The rest will either go to goodwill or the garbage. If I get money from my clothes, it’s going towards repaying my HVAC. 

I was able to consolidate both dressers into one. My closet has significantly more space, although it may not seem like it in the photo. Here’s the end result:

A few years ago I challenged myself to not buy clothes for a year, other than 1 item per month. I made it 6 months! I’m giving myself that challenge again. Having 100 items is more than enough to last that long, plus I already know I’m not even going to wear it all. So all the money I save is going to help me buy a DSLR camera. Boom, I think I’ve got it all figured out.

Leave a comment